The Good Bits: Top 10 Albums of 2015 Redux

Back when I was doing radio, a few of my fellow DJs would do a show around this time of year where they reflected on their favorite music from the pervious year. They would change around their top albums, include music they’d missed out on, and elaborated on how well their favorites had aged. I nicked this tradition from them while on radio and have decided to do so again on The Good Bits!

Here’s a list original top ten albums of 2015. If you’d like to see my initial thoughts on this list, you can head over to Metal Insider where it was originally posted.

Top 10 Albums of 2015:

10) Panopticon, Autumn Eternal
9) Intronaut, The Direction of Last Things
8) Sigh, Graveward
7) Leprous, The Congregation
6) Clutch, Psychic Warfare
5) Between The Buried And Me, Coma Ecliptic
4) Iron Maiden, The Book of Souls
3) Ghost, Meliora
2) Steven Wilson, Hand. Cannot. Erase.
1) Ghost Bath, Moonlover

Honorable Mentions:

Enslaved, In Times
TesseracT, Polaris
Mutoid Man, Bleeder

Now, nearly a year later in 2016, I’ve gone over these albums again, noted which ones I’ve returned to the most, discovered ones I missed, and then reassessed my list. It remains mostly the same but with two notable changes, both of which involve a mutual vocalist.

Top 10 Albums of 2015 Redux:

10) Sigh, Graveward

sigh-graveward

Graveward is still ridiculous, yet also still straightforward compared to Sigh’s other releases. If you like your black metal with an 80’s shred tinge, this is still a solid go to.

 

9) TesseracT, Polaris

tesseract

My initial impression of TesseracT’s third LP was that it was good, though not as good its predecessor Altered State. Part of this was due to my preference of vocalist Ashe O’Hara, whose performance dominated Altered State and who was replaced by original singer Daniel Tompkins for this album. But I kept coming back to Polaris this past year thanks to the tight, proggy songwriting and Tompkins’ performance eventually won me over. I was remiss in not including last year, and so it has been bumped up from its spot in the Honorable Mentions.

 

8) Earthside, A Dream In State 

earthside

Cinematic maybe isn’t the first word to come to mind when describing a metal band, but it certainly describes the music put together by the fantastic musicians comprising Earthside. A Dream In Static is a mainly instrumental journey occasionally joined by guest vocalists such as the aforementioned Daniel Tompkins, Lajon Witherspoon of Sevendust, and more. The addition of the Moscow Studio Symphony Orchestra on select tracks only adds to the shifting soundscape, full of gorgeous peaks and unique textures that many progressive bands push for but don’t always meet. This album is a treat and Earthside should be on everyone’s watchlist.

 

7) Clutch, Psychic Warfare

clutch

I only really got into Clutch when they put out Earth RockerPsychic Warfare is an excellent follow-up that is on par with its predecessor.

 

6) Leprous, The Congregation

leprous-the-congregation-01

The dark horse of 2015 for me is still holding the original spot I gave it. Leprous are one of the finer progressive metal acts out there.

 

5) Between The Buried And Me, Coma Ecliptic

coma_ecliptic_cover_art_by_between_the_buried_and_me

I saw the band perform the entire album live this year. That only helped solidify my love for this album.

 

4) Iron Maiden, The Book of Souls

iron-maiden-the-book-of-souls-2015

I’m a Maiden fanboy. That’s all I feel the need to say.

3) Ghost, Meliora

meliora

Ghost have gotten better and better with every album. The only thing that would make Meliora better is if “Square Hammer” from the Popestar EP released this year was on it.

 

2) Steven Wilson, Hand. Cannot. Erase.

steven_wilson_hand_cannot_erase_cover

This is still one of the single most moving, beautifully written albums I’ve ever heard. Steven Wilson is a gift to the musical world.

 

1) Ghost Bath, Moonlover

ghost-bath

Of all the albums on this list, I think I go back and listen to Moonlover the most. Ghost Bath are one of the best new acts out there and this album may very well rank in my personal best of all time.

 

And there you have it; my retrospective on my favorite albums from 2015. I’m sure there are still other albums that got swept under the rug or albums that I didn’t appreciate the first time around, but nothing in the music world is ever static. Stay tuned for my favorite albums for 2016 coming soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Good Bits

Leave a Reply

