You Might Like This 9/10: Altered State of Mind

I’ve mentioned this before, but whenever I write a review it’s a lot more casual than, say, a critical analysis of the album followed by a rating of 4.9/5 or something. I like to keep it short and sweet and without an actual rating. There’s nothing wrong with those who like to write in that style (though I’m not sure how exactly you distinguish a 4.9 from a 5), but I just never really liked giving an album an overall grade. So I usually just write as if I was chilling with a friend and said “Hey, you may/may not like this”. For this blog, I thought I’d try a slightly different take and just group together all the stuff I’ve been listening to lately with a blurb to go with it. This goes for new music but also for old. It’ll feature metal music more often than not but I’ll be including other genres in future I’m sure. Who knows? You might find a new favorite band.

 

TesseracT – Altered State

I must admit, I wasn’t all that taken with TesseracT’s first release in 2011. It wasn’t bad, I just thought it was a little boring after a few songs. As for Altered State, I can’t stop listening to it. It’s proggy, groovy, and heavy. New vocalist Ashe O’Hara really shines on this album with his beautiful voice which melds seamlessly with the chugging riffs. If you liked TesseracT’s debut, this is even better. If you didn’t, I’d still recommend giving it a shot.

RIYL: Periphery, Animals As Leaders, Progressive Metal/Rock

Have a listen:

 

DevilDriver – Winter Kills

I wasn’t really into DevilDriver before this album. My feelings about previous material could be summed up in a resounding “eh”. Sure, I’d only heard a few songs but I didn’t think it was anything special and I went into Winter Kills thinking it wouldn’t be that special either. I was kind of wrong. There’s a lot of energy to be had here with riffs that just keep pushing and pushing.  If you needed a good groove metal album that has some adrenaline to it, this might just fit the bill. Plus, it has a cover of “Sail” by AWOLNATION which might seem a little odd but is actually kinda cool.

RIYL: Lamb Of God, Coal Chamber, Groove Metal

Have a listen:

 

letlive. – The Blackest Beautiful

Now we move away from the area of progressive/groove metal to more of a post-hardcore/alternative metal realm. I didn’t hold much interest in letlive. before mostly because I didn’t really care for some bands they were associated with on tours and stuff. But The Blackest Beautiful kept popping up everywhere so I decided to sit down and give it a listen. And it’s pretty sweet. The melodies and choruses are catchy as hell and Jason Allen Butler has some serious energy. I found myself humming a lot of his album, which is always a good sign. I can definitely see where the praise comes from.

RIYL: Every Time I Die, Rage Against The Machine, Post-hardcore

Have a listen:

 

Well, there you have it. I don’t know how often I’ll post something like this but, hey, as long as I keep up with posting we’ll see what happens. Enjoy the music!

Leave a comment

Filed under You Might Like This

Leave a Reply

